Tuesday, September 30, 2014

Fox's Gotham Inspiration

Benjamin_McKenzie_2014_(cropped).jpg           Jacket.aspx


What is handsome young Jim Gordon checking out? Could it be the inspiration behind his current tv show, Gotham? Before there was Fox’s Gotham there was the hit comic Gotham Central. Though not completely the same it’s clear that Fox is pulling notes from Brubaker and Rucka’s hit series. Characters like Crispus Allen and Renee Montoya are staples of the comic, and were both created by Greg Rucka (Montoya co-created by Paul Dini). The main difference is that in Gotham Central Batman already is Batman and all his villains are already master criminals, in Gotham the show several characters are kids and no one has their alter ego yet. So what does this mean? It means if you enjoy Gotham but would like to see what it’s like to have the detectives deal with thugs using Mr. Freeze’s ice guns or having to investigate a string of dead Robins you should come to the library and check out Gotham Central! Volumes one through four are sitting on shelves just waiting to be picked up! Volume one: In the Line of Duty shown above.

Monday, September 29, 2014

College Go! Week: Are You Ready?

You may have stopped in at any library location last week and noticed that library staff were wearing
their college gear.   This year, the official kick off of College Go! Week was September 22-26 with events and contests through November. The library is a great place to access resources and materials that can help students, adults, and parents get ready for careers beyond high school.

The goal of College GO! Week is simple: to help you plan for college (or any education beyond high school). Across Indiana, schools and communities use College GO! Week resources to help students plan for college.

College GO! Week is an initiative of Learn More Indiana. Learn More Indiana is a partnership of state and local organizations working to help Hoosiers of all ages complete education and training beyond high school. Check out their resources today.

Contests and events sponsored by the state’s Learn More Indiana outreach initiative, College GO! Week features special contests and events.  For example, one student at each grade level—from kindergarten through grade 12 will win $529 for their College Choice 529 Savings Plan. Students in grades K-5 will complete a poster activity and grades 6-12 will write an essay explaining how $529 will help them prepare for college. Entries must be submitted by 5 p.m. (EST) on Nov. 21. Learn more about this contest and others at http://www.in.gov/collegegoweek/2379.htm.

Thursday, September 25, 2014

These Books are Banned!

September 21-27 is Banned Books Week, which celebrates our freedom to read!
You might be wondering exactly what this means.
Banned Books Week began in 1982 after there was a surge in books being challenged in school and public libraries. A “challenge” refers to a formal request for a book to be removed from the shelves of a library. A book is "banned" if this challenge results in the removal of the book. Libraries are committed to providing free and easy access to information and ideas, and this includes keeping books on the shelves that may be controversial to some people.



Our library adheres to and supports the American Library Association’s Library Bill of Rights:
The American Library Association affirms that all libraries are forums for information and ideas, and that the following basic policies should guide their services. 
I. Books and other library resources should be provided for the interest, information, and enlightenment of all people of the community the library serves. Materials should not be excluded because of the origin, background, or views of those contributing to their creation. 
II. Libraries should provide materials and information presenting all points of view on current and historical issues. Materials should not be proscribed or removed because of partisan or doctrinal disapproval. 
III. Libraries should challenge censorship in the fulfillment of their responsibility to provide information and enlightenment. 
IV. Libraries should cooperate with all persons and groups concerned with resisting abridgment of free expression and free access to ideas. 
V. A person’s right to use a library should not be denied or abridged because of origin, age, background, or views. 
VI. Libraries which make exhibit spaces and meeting rooms available to the public they serve should make such facilities available on an equitable basis, regardless of the beliefs or affiliations of individuals or groups requesting their use.
For more information, please visit:
http://www.bannedbooksweek.org/

Wednesday, September 24, 2014

College Go Week: Why not study Marvel?



In the spirit of College Go Week this post is dedicated to a creative new effort by the University of Baltimore. Starting Spring 2015 students can enroll in a one of a kind course, Media Genres: Media Marvels that is all about Marvel’s recent hit films. Taught by Arnold T. Blumberg, an adjunct professor, the course will focus on the idea of the “hero’s journey” in story telling and what the global fascination with superheroes tells us about modern culture.


"Every generation has a modern media mythology that serves as a framework for entertaining as well as educating about ethics, morality, issues of race, gender, class, and so on," to quote Blumberg. He goes on to say prior Marvel the mainstream culture used Harry Potter and the Lord of the Rings, and Star Wars before that. And it seems he’s on to something, because what are superheroes like Iron Man not modern mythical characters just like ancient Greece’s Hercules?

Blumberg has a history of interesting courses, he’s been teaching comics and their role in culture for over 15 years. Additionally, back in 2010 he had another media focused course, but that one was about zombies. In fact Blumberg is noted as a zombie expert and even has his own podcast: Doctor of the Dead. To learn more visit the University of Baltimore’s article here.

Tuesday, September 23, 2014

Fall in Love with Fall

My whole life, I have found a perfect calm when the seasons change to fall. It's as if all the stars are aligned in my life, if just for a brief time. I suppose that part of it could be that in the fall I celebrate my birth, but mainly I believe that it's the beauty of what surrounds us in nature during this time. Woods sharing their magnificent colors for all to see, skies with hues of grays and pinks, crisp air billowing with the faint smells of sweet harvests and burning embers, and of course the brisk mornings that become the perfect temperature for an Indian Summer day. Yes, all of that and more, is what awakens my soul during this time of year.

So, on this first "official" day of autumn, take a deep breath in and tell me what is your favorite part of this season. Let me know what awakens your soul. Is it a good book, pumpkin latte, or a favorite trip to the pumpkin patch? Whatever it is, share it and enjoy it! 



Monday, September 22, 2014

New Books in Youth Services!

Here's a round up of new Young Adult novels in the Youth Services Department for September! 



Noggin by John Corey Whaley

Listen—Travis Coates was alive once and then he wasn’t.
Now he’s alive again.
Simple as that.

The in between part is still a little fuzzy, but Travis can tell you that, at some point or another, his head got chopped off and shoved into a freezer in Denver, Colorado. Five years later, it was reattached to some other guy’s body, and well, here he is. Despite all logic, he’s still sixteen, but everything and everyone around him has changed. That includes his bedroom, his parents, his best friend, and his girlfriend. Or maybe she’s not his girlfriend anymore? That’s a bit fuzzy too.

Looks like if the new Travis and the old Travis are ever going to find a way to exist together, there are going to be a few more scars.

Oh well, you only live twice.


The Vanishing Season by Jodi Lynn Anderson

For Maggie Larsen, the town of Gill Creek is only a stopgap before college and freedom. Until she meets Pauline and Liam. What starts as an uneventful year suddenly changes. Someone is killing teenaged girls, and the town reels from the tragedy. As Maggie's and Pauline's worlds collide and change around them, they will both experience love and loss. And by the end of the book, only one of them will survive.

This book is perfect for fans of Gayle Forman, Lauren Myracle, and Laurie Halse Anderson. 

100 Sideways Miles by Andrew Smith  

Finn Easton sees the world through miles instead of minutes. It’s how he makes sense of the world, and how he tries to convince himself that he’s a real boy and not just a character in his father’s bestselling cult-classic book. Finn has two things going for him: his best friend, the possibly-insane-but-definitely-excellent Cade Hernandez, and Julia Bishop, the first girl he’s ever loved.

Then Julia moves away, and Finn is heartbroken. Feeling restless and trapped in the book, Finn embarks on a road trip with Cade to visit their college of choice in Oklahoma. When an unexpected accident happens and the boys become unlikely heroes, they take an eye-opening detour away from everything they thought they had planned—and learn how to write their own destiny.


Found by Harlen Coben

 It’s been eight months since Mickey Bolitar witnessed the shocking, tragic death of his father. Eight months of lies, dark secrets, and unanswered questions. While he desperately wants answers, Mickey’s sophomore year of high school brings on a whole new set of troubles. Spoon is in the hospital, Rachel won’t tell him where he stands, his basketball teammates hate him . . . and then there’s Ema’s surprise announcement: She has an online boyfriend, and he’s vanished.

As he’s searching for Ema’s missing boyfriend (who may not even exist!), Mickey also gets roped into helping his nemesis, Troy Taylor, with a big problem. All the while, Mickey and his friends are pulled deeper into the mysteries surrounding the Abeona Shelter, risking their lives to find the answers—until the shocking climax, where Mickey finally comes face-to-face with the truth about his father. 

Thursday, September 18, 2014

Lego Master Builders

At our Lego Master Builders program we challenged participants to make their very own Lego movies!  Each participant started with the same set of Legos and were asked to do the same thing: use the Lego Movie Maker app to create a short video.  Ask twelve people the same question and you'll get twelve different answers.  Linked below are the videos our participants made!  




The Eternal Protectors by Brayden
Spy Ambush by Peter
Police Dudeso Chase by Thomas
Stop Light Alien by Marie
Pretzel-Stealing Crows by Annalynn
Stonehenge by Grace
Save the Girl by Blake
Christmas Zoo by Nicholas
Car Work by Nathan
Day at the Beauty Shop by Aisling
Future vs Past by Ben
Attack of the Living Dessert by Payton
Pizza Chase by Peter